The Association first started in 2015 (launched by Lord Alton).

We represent the interests of those living in the Liverpool City Regions from a commonwealth background.

All our work have at its core the promotion of the following Commonwealth values:

1. democracy;
2. human rights;
3. peace and security;
4. tolerance, respect and understanding;
5. freedom of expression;
6. separation of powers;
7. rule of law;
8. good governance;
9. sustainable development;
10. environmental protection;
11. access to health, education, food and shelter;
12. gender equality; and
13. the importance of young people and civil society.

Fifty-three countries are members of the Commonwealth. They span Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific and are diverse – they are amongst the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest countries. Although the Commonwealth is made up of 2.2billion people, thirty-one members are classified as small states – countries with a population size of 1.5 million people or less and larger member states that share similar characteristics with them. 60% of residents are under 30 years old.  All members subscribe to the Commonwealth’s values and principles outlined in The Commonwealth Charter. Leaders of member countries shape Commonwealth policies and priorities. Every two years, they meet to discuss issues affecting the Commonwealth and the wider world at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM). All members have an equal say – regardless of size or economic stature. This ensures even the smallest member countries have a voice in shaping the Commonwealth.  Liverpool and the City Region have an equally diverse population, where 60 languages are thought to be spoken by its residents who have an ethnic background from over 100 countries.

The main aim of the LCA is furthering links between diaspora communities of the Commonwealth to enhance two way trade, cultural and educational links and any other links designed to enhance the role of the Commonwealth and the Liverpool City Regions. The Association also has the wider aim of having Liverpool declared as a Commonwealth City.  A message from the Queen welcoming the creation of the Association was read out by Dame Lorna Muirhead at the official launch.

Countries by region:


Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, the Gambia.


Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.

Caribbean and Americas

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago


Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom


Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

The Trustees:

Chair: Garth Dallas

Executive Secretary: Vanessa Boateng